When I was recently searching through random food blogs, I came across a recipe at Blue Kitchen that looked so simple and affordable I had to make it. The recipe for pasta and chickpeas was particularly appealing to me because it only required one big soup pot and a small frying pan. For someone that hates washing dishes, that was really convenient for me.

I just recently started a new job, and I’m not making as much money as I would like, so I’ve been searching for cheap and still nutritious meals to make for my boyfriend and I. This is definitely becoming  a regular in my kitchen. The ingredients are so basic I almost always have them on hand: canned chickpeas, noodles, garlic, celery, and salt and pepper. (Note that the recipe also calls for pancetta, but us vegans can leave that out entirely).

I also made spinach sauteed with coconut cream, onions, and Indian spices. It was really fantastic, and a quick side that would go with a variety of things.

Yummy. 🙂