I’ve had some white miso in my refrigerator for a few weeks now, and hadn’t even opened it because I didn’t really know what to do with it. I was looking through some vegan blogs today, however, and found a recipe that inspired me to finally use it. Lolo at VeganYumYum has some really creative recipes on her blog, and I’ve written before about two of them: Hurry Up Alfredo and oatmeal raisin cookies. When I saw her recipe for Smokey Miso Tofu I wanted to try it immediately. So I did! 🙂

I didn’t have any bread, and I really wasn’t in the mood for a sandwich anyway, so I threw together some saffron rice and frozen Thai veggies. I love saffron rice, and it really complemented the tofu.

The tofu came out great. I was sucking the marinade off my fingers before I could get all of it onto the tofu (I don’t have a brush, so I just used my finger to spread the marinade). As it was baking, it made my apartment smell fabulous. Lolo’s original recipe called for red miso, but I substituted white and only used 1 Tbs sugar instead of 2.

Pre-bake
Post-bake

When I pulled it out of the oven, I noticed the tofu was slightly burnt on the bottom. It didn’t change how tasty and chewy it was, but maybe next time (because I’m 100% sure there’s going to be a next time!) I might flip the slices halfway through baking and brush a little more marinade on them.

I would highly recommend this recipe to people who love smokey foods as much as I do. My liquid smoke is one of my favorite ingredients to use. Has anyone else tried this recipe?